Our broad and creative curriculum is developed to incorporate children’s interests, our environment and the strengths of our staff.

The Rolvenden Curriculum

Our School has its own Creative Curriculum which meets the requirements of the EYFS and National Curriculum.

Each class follows their own theme through which most of the National Curriculum subjects are taught. We have selected themes which will stimulate and inspire our children, allowing them to work effectively, independently and collaboratively. Theme titles could be: Tipis, Tomahawks and Totem Poles, Jack Frost, School of Rock or Fire, Fire! Each term, the teachers produce two ‘Knowledge Organisers’ and one ‘Skills Map’ which outlines what will be taught during that unit. These can all be downloaded below.

We make the best use of our local environment to support our teaching and take children’s and staff’s interests into account before organising our year’s topics. Through educational visits, high quality resources, experiences and visits from experts in their field we look to enrich our curriculum with many additional opportunities. Due to the fact we have mixed year groups, careful planning of skills progression ensures continuity across the school which enables high aspirations to be met.

The Rolvenden Themes Map is available below:

Curriculum Themes at Rolvenden

Hazel’s (FS/Y1) Curriculum Term 6 – June/July 2022

Skills and CREATE Knowledge Organiser (FS) – Hazel – T6 – Animals

Oak’s (Y1/Y2) Curriculum Term 6 – June/July 2022

Skills and CREATE Knowledge Organiser – Oak – T6 – Arctic Explorers

Science Knowledge Organiser – Oak – T6 – Materials

Willow’s (Y3/Y4) Curriculum Term 6 – June/July 2022

Skills and CREATE Knowledge Organiser – Willow – T6 – Raucous Rainforests

Science Knowledge Organiser – Willow – T6 – Materials

Holly’s (Y5/Y6) Curriculum Term 6 – June/July 2022

Skills and CREATE Knowledge Organiser – Holly – T6 – Water World

Science Knowledge Organiser – Holly – T6 – Forces

Skills Progressions

Throughout 2020, our staff reviewed the curriculum and created brand new skills progressions which span from Foundation Stage to Year Six. These are used to ensure progression is consistent for all children between different classes and key stages. You can download copies of these documents below.

Phonics, Spelling and Reading

In order to teach children to read and spell, we use two programmes. In EYFS and KS1, we use resources from All Aboard Phonics which align with the nationally recognised ‘Letters and Sounds’ programme. Once the children have completed this programme, they move into a  progression based on ‘ESSENTIALspelling’ which was released in 2020 and ‘Talk for Reading’ which develops the children’s reading comprehension skills.

To help you understand the terms we use in the teaching of phonics and spelling, we have put together a vocabulary guide for you which can be downloaded here:

Language of Phonics and Spelling

Children  use the knowledge which they learn in phonics sessions in order to de-code new words which they encounter when reading.


Alongside this, we use the VIPERS approach to the teaching of reading. This teaches children key question stems and what they should be looking for when responding to questions. Posters for these can be downloaded below:

Reading VIPERS Question Stems KS1 – PDF

Reading VIPERS Question Stems KS2 – PDF

These resources are provided by Rob Smith of the Literacy Shed – https://www.literacyshed.com/

Our primary method of teaching reading in KS2 is ‘Talk for Reading’. This approach teaches children to look deep within a text for hidden meaning through modelled, guided and independent activities.

Support for Parents

We know how tricky it is for parents to navigate through the jargon of the curriculum. To help, we run regular workshops for our parents which explains how we teach; the kinds of activities which the children complete in class and how they can help at home. Recordings of these sessions are available for you to watch here.

The Nitty-Gritty


The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework aims to build a secure foundation for children to progress through school life. It is a framework for children from 0-5 years of age. In Hazel Class, the teachers use this information to inform their planning and assessment.

For a Parents’ Guide to the EYFS Framework please click here:




The National Curriculum 

Children in Years 1- 6 are taught using the National Curriculum. The subjects within the National Curriculum are: English, Maths, Science, Art, Design and Technology, History, Geography, Languages, Computing, P.E. and Music.

A Parents’ Guide to the National Curriculum can be viewed here:


Our Curriculum and the Equality Act 2010

All of the staff at Rolvenden are aware of the Equality Act 2010 and the necessity to ensure that our curriculum ensures that all staff, students, parents and people beyond the school are equal regardless of religious beliefs, sexual orientations, gender and gender identity.

We respect, recognise and value differences and build in opportunities to explore diversity. Positive relationships and attitudes are fostered throughout the school and this creates a culture where negative or harmful attitudes can be challenged.

All of our classrooms are inclusive and training is regularly held for staff to ensure that we have the highest standards for all of our students, especially those most vulnerable.